RSS

In the Spotlight…Agent Provocateur

26 Aug

When I saw the New A.P Collection, there was one piece that caught my attention straight away….

The decadent Thora Dress … I literally fell in love. It pulls on all the right strings for me- hourglass, buttons, three qualter sleeves, red silk, secretary-esque, and unashamedly, undoubtedly, brazenly feminine. So before I’d barely even set foot in Harrods this week I was rushing to try it on for size and see if it lived up to my expectations….

The range claims to be inspired by Dior’s ‘New Look’ of the 1940’s. While I don’t directly see it visually besides a little bit of tailoring, I definitely get the same essence. The female empowerment of the 1940’s, where woman were beginning to gain more and more power and enter the work place with authority and need. The Thora Collection takes this movement into the modern day, I don’t know what it looks like or how well it translates through photos, but I can definitely say when wearing this I felt like I could take on anything and win, especially work and especially men….

Designed to sculpt and support your curves – it definitely does just that. I felt completely supported, as in my body was in all the right places and was definitely going to stay that way no matter what, and my curves certainly felt sculpted. It was a confidence giver. It was comfy. It felt stunning. It was the highest quality. I loved it even more than I thought I would. My only problem was this…..when the hell would you wear it ? The incredible boost it gives I’d want to wear it in public! I’d want to wear it everywhere, down the street, taking out the bins, nipping to the shops, running for the bus… I’d want to wear it too work- but the demi-cups definitely make that impossible, oh yeah and not to mention the gaping slit up the back. So this then shouts bedroom wear. Right? A bit of roleplay prehaps ? Well, prehaps, but for £525 thats bloody expensive role play when to be honest from The Boy’s reaction, a simple white shirt and hold ups could say “Secretary” just as well.

So I’ve come to the conclusion it would be a “Me” Dress. I’d wear it for me. On those days when I’m feeling like I could be clinically diagnosed with chronic amounts of Ugly, I’d just slip into The Thora Dress…. Do the dishes. Hover. Dust. Speak on the Phone. Do my Nails. Eyebrows. Practice for Presentations. And just generally go about my day and feel really fucking awesome about myself. Either that or I’d have an extra panel added to cover up the gaping slip- and bam, I’d get to wear it everywhere! Oh, Except maybe work……

What I will be adding to my collections however is the BRA SET.…exactly the same effect of the dress, but melted down into tiny-but-oh-so-perfectly-crafted bra and knickers (and waspie too! )

There is something just so perfect about the set that makes me want to jump up and down and scream a tiny little bit and buy ten just because I’m scared nothing else will ever be made that’s quite so amazing. In fact I think I may have done. Well, maybe not, but I did dramatically fling back the curtains and call my friend in too look, along with the attendant. But thats what good underwear is all about, right? Making you feel so good you WANT people too see it !

I just can’t get over the shaping it gives ! The most perfect apple-shaped cleavage there is. I’ve tried on an alarmingly high amount of two-sizes-bigger bra’s for research this summer, and I can categorically say that NONE of them give the push up an A.P bra can give- with half the amount of padding. The pants make me so happy too because normally these hips do not lie– but in these pants they definitely do ! The flash of red silk underneath and inside is cute too. I mean we all know about red, right ? So genius of A.P to team red silk with structured houndstooth and then turn them into shapes made for a curvy, real body.

I’d carry on an rave like a loonatic about the rest of the collections, but this range really is my favourite by far. If you are interested though, please check out my friend Ashleigh’s passionate break down of them here.

And if you want to browse the Thora Range enjoy the 1940’s femme fatale collection here.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “In the Spotlight…Agent Provocateur

  1. memoir mode

    August 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

    You look completely amazing in the dress and the lingerie set, a must buy. I totally agree there is nothing more feminine than a wiggle dress and you turn more than a head or two. x

     
  2. The Fit Crusader

    September 14, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    That is a STUNNING dress. I’m sure it’d make more than a few heads turn.

     
  3. The Fit Crusader

    September 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Oh and I totally agree that everybody needs a “me” outfit. A long while back I had bought a formal dress (just a one time occasion) but to make sure I got the most use out of it I made sure to wear it when I was watching TV, reading a magazine, tidying up, and general running around in my backyard. Definitely makes your day feel more special.

     

Leave a Reply

 
