RSS

Christian Dior Lingerie

31 Aug


 

“No more women soldiers built like boxers, I draw women flowers, soft shoulders, flowing busts, fine waists….”

Christian Dior’s 1940’s New Look undeniably changed the fashion world forever. After years of the dark, sombre, standard issue make-do and mend war-time clothing, Dior made the world’s jaw collectively drop with collections of exaggerated ultra-femininity: untouchable, outwardly cool structured surfaces but with a network of erotic and imaginative cantilevered bras and boned corsetry underneath. A huge part of my nostalgic heart will always belong to the 1940’s simply because of Dior’s iconic styling. For me it embodies and celebrates everything amazing about femininity. From the sharply contoured hourglass figure, the smart tailoring of powerful women juxtaposed with the soft fragility of a female body overlaid in silk and lace and the gorgeous, relentless eye for the tiniest of details.

I recently came across a vintage Christian Dior girdle-skirt

It is undeniably heart-achingly beautiful. It is a shame that Dior’s lingerie has dwindled in resent years, but then that does make their archives so much more enticing. Plus its clear to see in the recent few collections of Dior that they are proud of their heritage in lingerie, as one of the designers striding ahead of the Underwear-as-Outwear trend that has been sweeping the fashion world the last couple of years…….

My favourite is the sharp grey belted blazer teamed with the soft, ethereal like vintage lace slip. That is absolute perfection to me!

For years I have been collecting vintage Dior posters and images , as they never cease to stir up such strong  and glorious feelings of nostalgia for the sweet and soft memories of heroines from the bygone age, and conjure images of powder puffs, lipstick kisses and boudoir bed times with handsome lovers delicately un-clipping suspenders…..

Elegant, timeless, and above all- feminine. 

To help quell the pangs of longing I have for Dior’s Long Lost Lingerie, I finally purchased the Agent Provocateur Thora Bra- which is the closest modern day equivalent I can really find !

Oh, and not forgetting watching the unbearably fabulous Sofia Coppola’s commercial for dior…

Amoureuse!!

x

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2011 in 1940's, Agnet Provocateur, Lingerie, Vintage

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Christian Dior Lingerie

  1. memoir mode

    September 1, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Those posters are absolutely divine. If it were down to me my walls would be lined, my husband prefers a more masculine bland interior though haha. xx

     
    • lovefrombryony

      September 5, 2011 at 7:11 pm

      hehe oh dear bless him! I know arent they just ! I have a little corner by my desk designated for such delights 🙂 So glad you like the posters too!! x

       

Leave a comment